Virtual Tour

Nobel Prize Winners

Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center is one of three Seattle Cancer Care Alliance (SCCA) parent organizations. It has the largest transplant program in the world. Patients who are here for a transplant are treated at SCCA facilities. The Hutchinson Center is also home to three Nobel Prize winners in the field of medicine. Dr. E. Donnall Thomas, MD, won the Nobel in 1990 for his pioneering work in bone marrow transplantation. In 2001, Dr. Lee Hartwell, PhD, president and director of the Hutchinson Center, won the Nobel for his pioneering work in yeast genetics, which helps explain the uncontrolled growth of cancer cells. In 2004, Dr. Linda Buck, PhD, won the Nobel for research that unlocks the mystery of how humans smell.

Loading time may take up to one minute. Once the image has loaded, place your cursor on the image for instant control, or click and drag for more control. The ‘A’ key zooms in, and the ‘Z’ key zooms out.