Meet Our Leadership Team

Meet Our Leadership Team

SCCA is a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt, nonprofit corporation governed by an 18-member board of directors. Our founders—Fred Hutch, Seattle Children’s, and UW Medicine—each appoint six directors; at least four of the six are community representatives.  

Executive Management Team

  • Fred Appelbaum, MD, Executive Director and President: responsible for general administration and management of SCCA operations; Deputy Director and Executive Vice President, Fred Hutch
  • Norm Hubbard, Executive Vice President: responsible for overall strategic leadership and operational management of SCCA
  • David Ackerson, Chief Information Officer and Vice President: responsible for Information Technology, Clinical Information Systems, Information Security, Health Information Management, Enterprise Project Management, and Decision Support
  • Debby Gentzen, Chief Strategy Officer and Vice President: responsible for Strategy, Business Development, Marketing, Public Relations/Media, the SCCA Network, Program Management, Proton Therapy, and Research Integration
  • Barbara Jagels, RN, MHA, Chief Quality Officer and Vice President of Quality, Safety & Value: responsible for Quality Measurement, Patient Relations, Patient Experience, Infection Prevention, Patient Safety, Regulatory Affairs, Risk Management, and Cell Therapy Processing Quality Assurance
  • Angelique Richard, PhD, RN, Chief Nurse Executive and Vice President of Clinical Operations: responsible for nursing, infusion, imaging, pharmacy, supportive care, radiation therapy, specialty clinics, clinical laboratories, and SCCA satellite clinics
  • F. Marc Stewart, MD, Medical Director and Vice President: oversees clinical care and conducts quality monitoring of medical practice on behalf of SCCA; responsible for SCCA outpatient clinics
  • Jonathan Tingstad, Chief Financial Officer and Vice President: responsible for Finance, Revenue Cycle and Payor Relations, Patient Accounting, Clinical Research Billing, Facilities, and Patient Access

Member Representatives

  • Gary Gilliland, MDPhD, President and Director, Fred Hutch 
  • Paul Ramsey, MD, Chief Executive Officer, UW Medicine; Executive Vice President for Medical Affairs and Dean of the School of Medicine, University of Washington
  • Jeff Sperring, MD, Chief Executive Officer, Seattle Children's

Governance - Board of Directors

  • Richard McCune, Chair; Chair, Board Executive Committee; Partner, KPMG LLP (retired)
  • Mike Delman, Vice Chair and Treasurer; Chair, Board Finance, Investment & Audit Committee; Chair, Board Governance Committee; Seattle Children's Board of Trustees; Corporate Vice President, Microsoft (retired)
  • Kimberly McNally, MN, RN, Secretary; Chair, Board Patient Quality, Safety & Service Committee; UW Medicine Board; President, McNally & Associates
  • Carl Behnke, Immediate Past Chair; Chair, Board Compensation Committee; Fred Hutch Board of Trustees; President, REB Enterprises, Inc.
  • Robert Bakemeier, President, Bakemeier Law Firm  
  • Lisa Brandenburg, President, Seattle Children’s Hospital
  • Jacqueline Cabe, Chief Financial Officer, UW Medicine; Vice President for Medical Affairs, University of Washington
  • Robert Flowers, Chair, Board Facility Committee; Seattle Children's Board of Trustees; Senior Vice President, Washington Mutual (retired)
  • Karen Glover, Global Integration Partner, K&L Gates (retired)
  • Gerald Grinstein, Strategic Director, Madrona Venture Group
  • Mark Groudine, MD, PhD, Executive Vice President and Deputy Director, Fred Hutch; Professor, Radiation Oncology, UW School of Medicine
  • Ruth Mahan, Chief Business Officer, UW Medicine; Vice President for Medical Affairs, University of Washington
  • Linda Mattox, Seattle Children's Research Institute Advisory Board
  • Brooks Ragen, Chair, Board Development Committee; Chair, Board Integrity Committee; Vice Chairman, Private Wealth Management, Robert W. Baird & Company  
  • Steve Stadum, Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, Fred Hutch
  • Bruder Stapleton, MD, Chief Academic Officer & Senior VP, Seattle Children’s; Ford/Morgan Professor & Chair, Department of Pediatrics, UW School of Medicine; Associate Dean, UW School of Medicine
  • JoAnn Taricani, PhD, Associate Professor and Chair, Division of Music History, UW School of Music
  • Richard Yarmuth, Partner, Yarmuth Wilsdon PLLC